Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Just a bit o’ pics

16 Comments

Hey there. Today is family gathering day. Last week, I threatened to have just pictures. I know, I know, you are sooo dreading this, and I won’t blame you if you leave now. I promise I’ll have more to say next week.

Oh, before I get to the boring stuff (you know, pics), a quick update. Another publisher crossed off the list. Three to go, and hopefully one of the question marks will come back with a positive response, but I’m not holding my breath. After talking to my agent a couple days ago, I’ll go back through the manuscript and make some tweaks before she sends it off again.

Alright, if you don’t make it through the rest of the post, have a great weekend! 😀

Zoey sit_cr

Is this my good side?

Zoe2_cr

Hey, that’s my spot!

zoey3_cr

Is there enough room for me?

Here are our new additions:

chicks

Brown leghorn chicks

Enjoy your weekend!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen names: J. M. Holmes, J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". I write adult mystery with a touch of romance, mystery with extrasensory elements, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy, and I'm represented by the fabulous Cynthia Zigmund of Second City Publishing Services. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our hobby farm, and Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

16 thoughts on “Just a bit o’ pics

  1. Cute chicks! Enjoy your family time, Julie. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Diana! It was a gorgeous day–not as much sun as I’d hoped, but warm and everyone was in good spirits. My son brought his girlfriend, and she fit right into the family like she belonged. Both of them got some quality petting time with the chicks 😀 Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I may OD on the cuteness of all those pics. First the felines faves (you know how I am) and then those ADORABLE chicks. In can’t believe how tiny they are. Do you raise them and keep them? Can you believe I’ve never seen or held a baby chick. Thanks for sharing the photos and making me grin.

    Enjoy your time with family and my fingers are crossed on the book. Good things are waiting around the corner!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mae! Those chicks are getting bigger–they are getting real feathers on their wings (as opposed to down). We raise them for the eggs, and keep them as long as we can. One of the problems with living out in the country is the variety of predators: rats, skunks, and coyotes. Oh, and our dogs. We lost three hens last fall to a skunk (and a dog when one hen flew over the fence). We’re trying to handle the chicks so they aren’t quite so skittish.

      Had a good family day yesterday. Taking today to recoup, then starting tweaks tomorrow. Enjoy the spring weather!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry about the publisher and the supposed need for tweaks. :/ But yeah for kittens and chicks! Thank you! My girls enjoyed them too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I realise I came to this post after your last one…here are the fluffy cute chicks! Hoping you had a lovely time with your family. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Creature Feature | Facets of a Muse

Leave a Reply

