Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Spring Distractions

15 Comments

I love spring. I mean, if I had a choice of an extended season, I’d pick spring. Most of the bugs aren’t out in force quite yet, the trees are that bright fresh green color, the grass is bold emerald (and needs to be cut already?!), and this:

lilac_cr

lilac flowers

I wish I could include the smell. I go out to the lilac bush and just inhale the scent. We only have one bush, the common lilac, but my dad has more varieties, including one that’s called a French lilac (I think). They all pretty much smell the same, they’re just different colors, for the most part. I hope they’re still blooming next weekend. My dad’s leaving on his annual Alaskan cruise, so I’m taking the opportunity for a couple weekends of writing bliss at his place. This year my aunt (a misnomer because she’s actually my uncle’s ex-wife, but still part of the family) and her sister are going with my dad and my uncle.

Oh, and this is another favorite part of the season:

asparagus_cr There’s nothing like fresh asparagus from the garden. Sooo yummy!

It’s getting to be about that time again, when the weather stays warm enough for the garden to be planted. Not that a person needs to wait until mid-May to plant (holy sh*t, it’s the middle of May already?! Damn, where did the time go? Wasn’t it just St. Patty’s Day?), but I really don’t want to think about covering anything that might die if we get any frost.

My hubby tilled the garden last night, so I’m planning to plant this weekend. Needless to say, I’m ready to get stuff in the ground; one less thing to think about. Then again, that means I’ll need to start weeding. Ugh. It’s almost depressing to see just how well weeds are growing already:

creeping charlie_cr

creeping Charlie

The infamous creeping Charlie. Luckily, not in my garden area … yet. It’s a member of the mint family, so it spreads, but it should also be edible. I’ll have to dig up (or make up) some recipes. Hey, might as well eat it to beat it, right?

My son is done with his freshman year of college and is now home and enjoying life with no homework. His girlfriend came over yesterday and helped him clean out the chick box and put in new bedding. She loves animals, and enjoyed helping (I think), even if the chicks aren’t all that cute anymore:

chicks 1_crchicks2_cr

It’s almost time to move them outside into a nursery coop, a smaller area than our regular coop to let them acclimate to being outside. Our one remaining hen has been by herself since late last year when a skunk managed to get into the coop area (hence the new chicks). We think she’ll be happy to have some company.

I’ve been procrastinating on writing (in case you couldn’t tell šŸ™‚ ). My agent asked me to make one more small revision, so I’ll do that this weekend and get the manuscript to her next week for the second round of submissions. I’m looking forward to a couple weekends away from distractions at home to work on my WIP.

So there’s the rundown. Light on the writing stuff, heavy on everything else helping me procrastinate. I need to buckle down; I’m getting into that itchy, irritable, agitated state of mind that develops when I don’t write enough. I keep thinking about my writing sisters reunion coming up in August. Ahh, to have a few days to think only about writing. I can’t wait!

Have a great weekend, everyone! Happy Mother’s Day to those who have kids, and to those who don’t, because you probably fill that place in someone’s life, even if they aren’t your own child.

Happy Writing!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, one chicken, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

15 thoughts on “Spring Distractions

  1. Awww, I think those chicks are still highly adorable šŸ™‚

    You definitely sound like you’re keeping busy. We’ve been inundated with rain lately and cooler temps, but next week the warm weather is slated to return. I can’t wait! No garden for me, but I’ll still find plenty to do outdoors. I bet you can’t wait for all those fresh veggies you’re going to have!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, there’s nothing quite like fresh veggies from the garden šŸ˜€ I’ve been missing them a lot, though the fresh asparagus helps. I even picked some lamb’s quarters (like spinach) to cook up because I know I won’t have any spinach for weeks. This weekend is supposed to be within spitting distance of 80 deg, a gorgeous weekend for spring (although a little too warm for my taste šŸ™‚ )

      Have a great weekend, Mae!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh… I do the same thing with our one lilac bush… I walk up to it just to take in the smell. Spring is the best time of year. Of course, I’m still waiting for it… it’s been unusually cold here. And I’m sure next, it will become unusually hot! Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lilacs are my favorite thing about Spring too! šŸ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love all the pics. I looked at your lilac and thought, I wish I could smell it! Then you wrote, I wish I could include the smell. Haha! Uh-oh. We’re thinking alike. I might start looking up creeping charlie recipes next and not even know why! šŸ˜‰ Yes, hooray for spring, and boo to weeding. That was my most despised chore as a kid. As an adult, it’s a bit more bearable because it’s my yard I’m attending to. And I know the feeling of yuckiness from not getting any writing done. Happy for you for your unadulterated writing time coming up! Oh, so the ex-aunt and the uncle are going on the cruise with Dad? Or is this an aunt and uncle who weren’t previously married? Otherwise, wow! Impressive to still be friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I find the weeding theraputic for a while, until the weeds get their super growth on toward the end of July; that’s when they race to set their seeds. My aunt and uncle are friendly; their whole family (aunt, uncle, and their 4 grown kids) went on a Hawaiian vacation some years back, and they did okay. I’m not sure how long they were married before they got divorced; I remember when it happened, but my aunt was always part of the family even after that.

      I’ll be working on the garden this weekend (so much for kicking back on Mother’s Day šŸ™‚ ), so maybe I’ll post those pics next week. Happy Mother’s Day to you, Betsy!

      Like

  5. Beautiful lilac, Julie. I love the fragrance and don’t have any of them. Hmmm – a trip to the nursery? Have fun planting. We’re a couple weeks away, but getting close. My seedlings are ready to go but it’s still too cold here. Enjoy the peace for your last edits – I’m sending lots of positive energy your way for the second round of submissions šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Diana! I was outside last night and spent a bit of time just enjoying the scent of the lilacs. I laid out the garden, and plan to do the planting today. I keep forgetting how much work it is–seems like the older I get, the more tired I am when I’m finished šŸ˜€ Sending warm thoughts your way so you can get those seedlings planted šŸ˜€ Happy Mother’s Day!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Blimey, those chicks have grown into serious bossy looking hens! šŸ˜€I know, how did it get to mid-May already…my son is just starting a long host of exams until mid- June – stressful times! The lilac looks perfect and we have one exactly the same colour outside our kitchen door and the fragrance is heavenly! As for the asparagus, this looks delicious. This is the season for gardening, Julie so enjoy the planting and even the weeding! Wishing you a very Happy Mother’s Day and lots of enjoyable writing time at your Dad’s place. šŸ’

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Annika! My son finished his finals a week ago, and he’s been enjoying life without homework and classes. Now he has to find a summer job, preferrably sooner, before he gets too comfortable with summer life and no responsibilities šŸ™‚ The asparagus is sooo good, but a short season. It’s going to be really warm this weekend, as well as the coming week, so I’m afraid we might have reached the end of the season already. It prefers a little bit cooler temps. I’ve got the garden laid out, now to plant it today. My tomato seedlings will be much happier in the ground instead of in little pots!

      Happy Mother’s Day to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh but they are cute. Those darting heads, inquisitive eyes. Very cute.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

