Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Random thoughts

15 Comments

A blank page stares at me, so I stare back, trying to ignore the ache in the right side of my face. Creative thoughts flee from the pain like cockroaches from light.

Gawd, I hate sinus headaches. Except, they may not be sinus-related at all. Man, this getting old stuff really screws up the system.

“You’re not old, love.” My Muse settles into the recliner beside me in my writing office. “You haven’t hit half a century yet. You’re barely middle-aged.”

“Tell that to my headache. You heard what my doctor said. She thinks they’re hormonal.” I’ve been getting them since I turned forty or so. That’s old enough for my system to start wigging out.

He indicates the notebook on my lap. “Excuses, love.”

I lean back in my chair and close my eyes. “I turned in my proposal. I’m not sure what to work on next.”

“You know what you need to do, love. Plan your website revamp, work on your e-newsletter strategy, or work on the outline for the next book. Pick one.”

The ache around my right eye sharpens, reaches a finger to my right temple and digs in. “Aren’t you and Mr. E supposed to be doing some sort of prep for your Super Bowl party tomorrow?”

“Nope. We decided we’d just gather at the sports pub with the other Muses. No muss, no fuss. And you’re changing the subject.”

“Yeah, because I can’t think about writing when my face hurts. Maybe I’ll start looking at seed catalogs. We’re moving the garden this year.” Yep, into an area that’s been invaded by creeping Charlie. Oh joy.

“Excuses, love.”

“Then again, I’ve got a couple books I need to finish, including Mr. E’s debut and a comparison title for my book. I should probably finish those.” I turn to my Muse. “You know I called you just so I’d have something to write in my blog today, right?”

A grin inches across his face. Heat washes through me. “Of course I know. I’m your Muse, love. I also know it’s killing you to be in this uncertain place with your writing. So work on the outline for the next book. Send Mae that email about her website, and ask her about her newsletter while you’re at it. You have to write. You’re as antsy as a third-grader in brand-new dress clothes–the uncomfortable kind. It’s driving me nuts.”

“Just like this stupid headache is driving me nuts. Welcome to the club.”

Today is supposed to be relatively warm (around 30 F) with a kicking wind (16 mph), but I’m going to go for a walk anyway. That always seems to help when I’m stuck or lacking creative energy. Or I could just peruse seed catalogs for a while. That’s always fun, dreaming about a garden with few weeds and gorgeous veggies. I’ll have to start my seeds in a few weeks. Or maybe I’ll look up recipes for creeping Charlie.

Have a great weekend, and WRITE!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, six chicken, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

15 thoughts on “Random thoughts

  1. Sinus headaches are awful. I’d sit on the couch and watch TV. Lol.
    Lots going on, Julie. Take that walk and relax. πŸ™‚
    Or write ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! I did spend a bunch of time sitting on the couch and watching TV–seems that’s about all I can manage (except for walks) when my head hurts. It’s gone now, but my daughter has roped me into going shopping today. I hate shopping…

      Have a great rest of your weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Seed catalogs in winter… such a fine distraction. I hope you feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh, the Super Bowl party. Mr. E is going nowhere until he gets through the copy edits scheduled for today, but then I expect he’s planning to work through them quickly. After all, the Muse gathering calls πŸ™‚

    Good news the proposal is out of the way and I hope you kick your sinus headache to the curb before kick-off tonight. Maybe this Sunday should be a Sunday of relaxing for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Headache is gone, but so is my Muse, off to the party, I assume. Was hoping for a relaxing Sunday, but alas, my daughter wanted to go dress shopping for the Sadie Hawkins dance next week. Sigh. On the bright side, the store we got her dress from is being closed, so SUPER deal on the dress πŸ˜€

      Hope you got your copy edits done even with the Muse gathering πŸ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I hope your headache is better! I have no idea what creeping Charlie is, but I’m guessing it isn’t something good. I have to go to a Super Bowl party today. I wish the men could just go to a bar to watch, but it’s become a family affair. I usually bring my sewing kit and clothes that need mending. πŸ™‚
    Oh, but the house we’re going to has a cat. Not all bad news. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • A cat is a definite bonus! Creeping Charlie is an insidious β€œlittle” weed that is a type of ivy and spreads like crazy. We never had any until my hubby brought grass clippings back from another property. I suspect he also brought a few bits of creeping Charlie. The stuff is worse than dandelions for spreading–at least dandelions have one root you can pull. Creeping Charlie spreads from any little piece, like a net. I read somewhere, though, that it is edible (I’ll have to double-check). Revenge! πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Oh, Julie, I hope a walk helped and that your head is better. Let nature work its magic! I do like the sound of perusing the seed catalogues and that hopefully proved relaxing. Did you get to order any? With such a headache nothing helps but time. Take care and wishing you a pain-free week of writing with help of your trusted muse!πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Annika! Today is supposed to be pretty nice, so I’m planning to take a walk at lunch time. I didn’t get a chance to look through catalogs, but that’s definitely on my list. I need to start planning the garden anyway–I always look forward to that part (not the weeding, though πŸ˜€ )!

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Today I got a revise and resubmit! That’s not a no! It worked for you. Here’s hoping!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

