Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Another step–with cheers!

28 Comments

There’s something about working toward a goal, whether it’s running a 5k, remodeling a room, practicing meditation, or traveling to the states you haven’t visited yet. Sometimes the road to get there is long and full of potholes and detours.

Sometimes you can actively move toward the goal, like training to run a marathon. Sometimes you prepare for a goal, like saving up for travel or remodeling.

In the writing world, it seems all these come into play. We practice writing. We train by reading about writing and taking classes on writing. We go to writing conferences. We practice some more. We ease into the hot spring with short stories or flash fiction, with entries into contests, with blog posts and guest posts.

We learn about the business, what it takes, the best paths to get to where we want to be. We read. A lot. We align ourselves with other writers, better writers, and writing teachers so we can improve beyond what we think we can do. We accept the challenge of becoming a published writer.

We fall down. We slip a few rungs backward. When you’re a writer, you get up, dust off your pen and notebook, and try again. We feel like we can’t move forward, that nothing we do seems to move us toward that elusive goal many of us seek: to be published.

And then, you see hope. A glimmer here, a shine there. You get partial requests for your manuscript. You place in a contest. You get personal rejections instead of form rejections. You get requests for the full manuscript.

Then you get a request for a revise and resubmit. It might come with specific feedback, or it might have general ideas of where you can take the story. Maybe the agent is open to discussing the feedback. You speak with the agent about where to take the story. You revise with the feedback you received in mind.

Then you resubmit. Sometimes a rejection follows, but sometimes you get more feedback about the story. Sometimes you have another phone discussion.

And then you receive the contract, the offer of representation for the story you created.

Another step closer to seeing your book in print.

I’m excited to announce I have signed with a literary agent to represent my mystery novel.

I have a literary agent.

OMG.

I know what happens next. I know that once I finish my latest revisions, I’ll need to work on stuff like a marketing plan, a cover blurb, and a bio. I’ll probably have to redo my synopsis. When a publisher picks it up, I’ll have more revisions, more planning, more to do.

This being an author stuff is a lot of work.

And I thought writing the book was tough. Actually, writing the draft isn’t so hard. It’s the revising that comes afterward that really takes work and up-close-and-personal time with the Muse.

The key, though, is persistence. You have to keep going, keep learning, keep reading, keep writing. Keep moving forward.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

28 thoughts on “Another step–with cheers!

  1. Congratulations, wonderful news!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG!!!! Julie that is fantastic news!! I am so excited for you! A literary agent is HUGE!
    I’m breaking out the champagne. Cheers, my friend! 🙂 *crazy Snoopy dance in your honor*

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! I’m picturing you doing the Snoopy dance 😀 And I’m picturing Raven watching with a look of “what the hell is wrong with her” on her cute black face 😀

      Thank you for the toast! (heh, reminds me of a Charlie Brown Thanksgiving, when Snoopy made toast for the meal 😉 )

      Started reading A Cold Tomorrow … love it so far 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. WOW. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    You were such a tease in your lead up to the big announcement. Good for you, Julie. What amazing news. You certainly did put in the hard work and you’ve earned this. I expect great things ahead. You go, girl!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AHHHHHH!! JULIE!!! I’m so freaking out over here! Congratulations a thousand times over! I’m ALL-CAPS excited for you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations! This is amazing news. So happy for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! Congratulations!!!! I’m thrilled for you!!!! Who is he/she? Am I allowed to ask? Not sure why it matters, just curious. Thri-iilled!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, that’s ridiculously awesome. Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow, Julie!! Congratulations! ğŸŽ‰ğŸŽ‰ I’m so happy for you, that is one major step and bet you’ve been celebrating…as always though you’re very grounded and realise the work aheaad. Best of luck working with your agent to place your novel and can’t wait to hear how you get on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Annika! I’ve finished my revisions, and after I look over it again, I’ll send it back to her. Hopefully she’ll be able to start shopping it. Part of me still can’t believe I’ve gotten this far. The other part dreads the amount of work still to be done. Ahh, the life of a writer!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

