Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Breather

15 Comments

“Julie?”

I hear him. My Muse. He’s in my writing office.

I’m not.

tropical-isle2-resize

Heh. I’m choosing not to let him know where I am. I mean, a girl should be able to chill without interruption, shouldn’t she? I relax in my lounge chair, close my eyes, and sink into the soothing whoosh of gentle waves against the shore. Palm leaves rustle in the breeze. The only thing missing is a tropical drink in hand.

“There you are.”

“Go away.”

“Really?” I hear a quiet snick as he adjusts his lounge chair–which I know wasn’t there thirty seconds ago–and rustling as he settles into it. “You don’t really want me to leave.”

“Take a few days. Go on a pub crawl–oh, except Mr. E is still on house arrest. Call up one or more of the other Muses. Leave me alone. I need a break.”

“I just wanted to say you did good. You got your manuscript off to your beta readers. Now you can focus on your other opportunity.”

“Yeah. Hurry up and wait. That’s the worst part, you know. The waiting.” Things move like traffic in an ironically-named NYC rush hour in this business. I get it. A person can only read so fast, especially if they’ve got other things going on.

“So, write something else.”

I slide my sunglasses to the top of my head and look over at him. He’s chillaxing in eye-searing yellow Bermuda shorts and a near-neon Hawaiian-print shirt, unbuttoned to expose his tan, sculpted chest. Tan? When the hell did he get tan?

I lower my glasses to save my eyesight. “Do ya think you could dress any louder? They’ll be able to see you on the mainland in that getup.”

“Why? Too much?” he asks, feigning innocence.

“Gawd, turn it off. And I’m not going to start anything new yet.” I adjust the pillow behind my head and resume my relaxing. “I’m letting the manuscript rest for a couple days. I’m not sure I like how those last few scenes worked out. Besides, my son is home this weekend, and I should do a major cleaning. I think the dust bunnies are mutating. Or, I could read. I’ve got a couple books started.”

Silence.

The longer I know he’s there, the more nervous I get about why he’s so quiet.

After a few minutes, I can’t stand it anymore. “What?”

A slow smile stretches across his face. “You’re doing good, love. Keep it up.”

The nice fall weather is holding out. Colors are just past peak, but there’s still some bursts of oranges, golds, and reds left out there. Trying to enjoy the sunshine and relative warmth while it lasts, since it’s ten days to Halloween.

Where did October go? Once we cross that threshold into November, the whole holiday prep, rush, gather season starts. And what’s with Christmas stuff up in stores already? It’s not even Halloween yet. Sheesh!

To all those prospective NaNo-ers out there, it’s almost time. Finish up those outlines, gather those snacks, make sure the coffee/tea/lemonade/whatever is ready for those marathon writing sessions.

Write on!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

15 thoughts on “Breather

  1. You achieved a goal. Tell that muse to lay off for a day or two and let a girl relax. Ha ha. Great job, Julie. You deserve a pat on the back. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. *fistpump* You did it!! I’d say you deserve a break even if it’s only a short one (writer’s breaks never seem to be very long).
    I love the “ironically named NYC rush hour.”
    BTW, I’ve got to attend t the dust bunnies too this weekend. I think they downed steroids πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • You got that right. Hope your writing is moving along. I still can’t believe how they compressed your deadline. There oughta be rules against that πŸ˜‰

      I’m approaching this whole R&R exercise as a test. I got an expected window from the requesting agent, so I really want to hit it. Maybe that’ll tip me over the edge πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I could taste the salty air!
    And I’ve felt the presence of that motivational stalker.
    You really brought it all to life.

    Like

  4. Yeah!πŸŽ‰ Congratulations on getting your MS out to the beta readers – you definitely deserve a break and even your muse agrees! Enjoy that lounger, pillow…a cocktail perhaps. When will you hear back?? Yep, how did it become almost November! Been chasing my tail since September and now off to Sweden for a few days over half-term…got my winter coat and gloves at the ready! Hope you have a relaxing few days. Warmest wishes, Annika πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Annika! Enjoy your time in Sweden, may the weather be wonderful and not too cold πŸ˜€ Hopefully will hear back from the betas by Nov 9, which should give me time to make any additional revisions before resubmitting by the end of Nov. One more week until Nov–eek!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. “Write on.” Love it. This was a fun post even despite the blatant lack of cat photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. She is at least very fluffy but won’t let me cuddle her. The big jerk.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

