Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Back to it

10 Comments

I stare at the screen. Not a blank screen, but a white one with all kinds of black squiggles on it usually interpreted as letters. My head aches, and I wonder for the umpteenth time why I bothered with the stupid surgery that’s made me miserable and unproductive for the past week and a half.

If I get any more sinus headaches after all this, I’m not going to be happy.

The door to my writing office swings open, sucking a draft through the space. My Muse enters, clad in worn jeans and the burgundy thermal shirt I love. He shoves his sleeves to his elbows and closes the door. The view from the windows changes from a tropical vista to a thick forest. I hear a stream rippling through its course from somewhere out there.

“What are you doing, love?” he asks, hands on hips. “Where’s your WIP?”

“I missed my blog post this week. I’m writing it now.”

He frowns. “Blog post? You wrote about your garden and the orphans already this week. You need to dig into your WIP.”

“I will. Just let me finish this.”

“Uh huh.” He looms over my shoulder. “And you’re procrastinating on your WIP why, exactly?” He points to the screen. “Missed a comma here.”

I shove his arm aside and add the mark. “My head hurts, otherwise I would’ve worked on it last night.”

“That’s what pain-killers are for. Finish up.” He pulls a fold-up chair from a corner and plops it down beside me. “Come on, love. The kids are gone to your sister-in-law’s, you have a legitimate reason not to weed or do any other activity, and it’s quiet. You have got to get your ass moving.”

He smells like the woods after a spring rain, that fresh scent of nature. I plant my elbows on my desk and rub my forehead. “My head hurts.”

“My ass hurts because you’re the pain in it. You know damn well if you don’t get this revision done this week, you’re losing your opportunity.”

I know. “Where are the kittens?”

He turns me to face him with a finger under my chin. Those blue eyes of his trap me. “It. Doesn’t. Matter. Finish your post, then open your WIP. You read through the draft yesterday.” The scent of burning leaves surrounds him. “Don’t make me pull out the big guns.”

I pull away. “Fine. You sure have been nice lately. What happened?”

“I see my writer losing momentum, that’s what. You’ve got a fecking month before the reunion, and you still haven’t gotten your WIP revised.”

“I just had surgery.”

“And you have time and opportunity now to write. No excuses.” He waves his hand in a circle. “C’mon, love, wrap it up.”

Sigh. He’s right, I know.

“Of course, I’m right.”

“Humble much?”

He wraps an arm around my shoulders. “It’s not my job to be humble, love. It’s my job to inspire you and kick you in the ass when you need it.”

So true. I’ll leave you all with a dose of cuteness. (BTW, haven’t found a new home for the orphans yet.)

IMG_0642_cr

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, six chicken, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

10 thoughts on “Back to it

  1. Hm. The “orphans” are still around, huh? You’re going to have to change them from “orphans” to “new members of the household.” On the WIP, I can feel the stress in your post. Get comfy – iced tea, music. slippers, flowers, a closed door and open window. Take a pain killer if you’re in pain and take breaks. Breathe, relax, and revise. You’ll get there. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ha! Nope, not gonna keep the orphans. I’m going to put an ad in the local paper this week. I’m fired up to dig into my WIP this afternoon, once hubs heads off to take his nap (he’s one of those “the TV needs to be on all the time whether I’m watching it or not” people). Getting comfy in the meantime. Hope your holiday weekend is going well, with lots of writing πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Share that cute overload pic of the orphans around and I bet they won’t be orphans for much longer!

    I love your muse’s sense of humor….β€œMy ass hurts because you’re the pain in it. ” Gotta love the guy, LOL.

    Mr. E. and I are buckling down to work on the WIP for a while, too. Maybe we’ll both accomplish what we set out to do. Happy Fourth of July, and happy writing for the upcoming week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh…the kittens have found a new home. Yours!! Well, your muse is probably right but sometimes if you don’t feel up to it, take it easy…let yourself heal. He could come over here and give me a kick…I think I’ve got an A* in procrastination! πŸ˜€ Seriously, hope you’re soon feeling back to normal – without the sinus headaches that is!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nope. No can do. I’m going to put an ad in the local paper for them. They are darling, and cute, but nope. I hope the sinus headaches are far behind me. Working on my WIP, since it’s a holiday and I don’t work. And the kids are gone. Getting there! Keep writing, Annika!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good job, hubbie. Gosh those kittens. They get me every time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

