Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Tag in again

11 Comments

G’day, mates. Julie’s Muse here–again. This isn’t my job, but extraordinary circumstances and all that.

Oh, did she tell you? No? Okay, even if she didn’t tell you, I’m going to because, well, I’m the one writing this blog post. See, she’s been having these nasty sinus headaches for the past five years or so. Let me tell you, she complains when she has them because, and I quote, she “can’t think when she has a sinus headache”. Which also means she can’t write. And she gets a wee bit cranky.

Okay, truth here. She gets downright grumpy. And you can tell her I said so.

Then she gets this so-called brilliant idea to get her head examined. Turns out, she has a deviated septum that might be causing her sinuses to stop up. Anyway, she finally got up the balls to have the deviation corrected. Don’t think I don’t want to add a comment about deviants, but I’m trying to be nice.

Trust me, she needs nice right now.

She had the surgery earlier this week. It went fine, from what I can tell, but that’s where the happy writer got off the bus. You shoulda seen her. It was like “Night of the Living Dead.” Gawd, it was a fecking nightmare. I had to leave for a few days, until she got through the nausea and the vomiting. I don’t like vomit. And I don’t like seeing her in that condition.

She’s on the upswing now, but still can’t concentrate on writing. So here I am, picking up her slack again. If this is going to be a regular thing, I’m going to have to renegotiate my contract.

*knock*

Well, look who the cat dragged in. She has some real color now.

“Are you writing my post?”

She sounds like she has a cold, all nasally and congested. “It’s Saturday, and you didn’t write one last night, so yes, love, I’m writing a post.”

She shuffles into the office and drops into the recliner. “Oh. I was going to write a post yesterday. Couldn’t think straight.”

“Good painkillers will do that.”

She sniffles. “Tell them about my garden, but I can’t get the pics off my damn phone, so I’ll have to post those later.”

“You already told them about your garden last week, remember?”

“Oh.” She dabs at her nose with a well-used tissue. “Tell them about the orphans my son found.”

“You can’t get those pics off your camera either, love.”

“So? I’ll post pics on Monday.”

“Why don’t you just upload the pics to iCloud instead of trying to make your iPhone talk to OneDrive? That’s like trying to shove an oval peg into a round hole. You might get there, but it’ll take some doing.”

“If the charging cable I had at home was an OEM cable, I wouldn’t have to monkey around with iCloud or anything. I can pull the pics right from my phone to the computer with the cable I have at work.” She sniffles, dabs. “Tell them I’m sorry I haven’t been keeping up with the blog reading either.”

“Excuse me. Whose post is this? Are you writing it, love? No. So I’m going to write what I want.”

She groans. “I could’ve written a post today. You didn’t need to do it for me.”

“Yes, I did, love. You need to get your ass back in the saddle on your WIP. You lost how many days? Four? Five if you can’t get your shit together today. Do you know what date it is? It’s almost fecking July, and you’re only halfway through your revision.”

“I didn’t know this surgery would knock me out for so long.”

She didn’t. And if she hadn’t reacted badly to the anesthesia, she might’ve been able to do some writing sooner. Can’t do anything about it now. “Then you need to make it up. Starting today.”

More sniffles. “I know. I’ll try.”

I love this line. “Do or do not. There is no try.”

She rolls her eyes. “You are so much better looking than Yoda. And taller.”

“Flattery will get you nowhere.” At least that’s what I want her to think.

I’m sure she’ll fill you in on the garden, and the orphans, and other news next week. Have a great weekend filled with writing, and thanks for sticking around.

Oh, Mae, if you’re out there, tell Mr. E I’ll meet him at our usual first pub an hour earlier than usual. I’m going to need an extra long crawl after this week.

 

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen names: J. M. Holmes, J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". I write adult mystery with a touch of romance, mystery with extrasensory elements, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy, and I'm represented by the fabulous Cynthia Zigmund of Second City Publishing Services. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our hobby farm, and Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

11 thoughts on “Tag in again

  1. Ouch! Tell Julie to rest up, and congrats for taking the step, especially if it gets rid of the headaches. Looking forward to the pictures too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, poor, Julie. You must give her my absolute best. Mr. E sends his love too…and yeah, I told him about the pub crawl because I’m giving him some time off. Next week he’s going to have to be in top form to dive into our new book, so no late crawls.

    And Julie’s going to need you when she’s ready to refocus. I’m glad she took the step but recovery sounds dreadful. Writing will be just the thing she needs for normalcy again. And orphans?!?!? Can’t wait to hear about that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, then, Mr E and I will make sure to make this next crawl a good one. I promise I won’t keep him out too late. Don’t even mention the recovery. Any writer’s block is better than this past week, though she’s starting to feel more human now. She’s going to have to start digging back into her WIP. I’ll let her talk about her “orphans”. Too much cuteness for me (though I do have a soft spot for baby animals). Good luck with the new book!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very creative. Best of luck on your recovery!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Julie, I do hope you are soon much better. I had sinus surgery a few years ago and it’s not fun.😒 Fingers crossed the headaches will become a long distant memory and you are soon feeling strong and back to creative strength. Take care. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Annika! It’s comforting knowing someone else went through this and agrees it isn’t fun. I honestly didn’t think it would be this bad, but I also didn’t expect to react so badly to the anesthesia. And yes, here hoping the sinus headaches are in my rearview mirror. Hugs back! Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      • So sorry to hear that you had a bad time with the anaesthesia. Once I was so terribly sick afterwards and dreaded another operation a few years later. However, talking to the anaesthetist they reassured me they would make sure it didn’t happen again by adding something to the drip. It worked fine – just some reassurance for any possible future operation.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s a positive. If I ever need anesthesia again, maybe they can do the same for me. Here’s hoping I’ll never have to have another surgery.:-)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

