Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Posting from the other side

5 Comments

Julie’s Muse here. Sorry about the late post; I thought she’d do this yesterday, but she had to go to college. Oh, no, not her, her son. Had orientation yesterday, I think. Fecking long day it was, and she got no writing done.

None. As in, zero words. Unless you count the notes she took during the five hours of new college student, new college student parents lectures.

How am I supposed to do my job? I mean, usually college environments are great for cultivating creative energy, but maybe there’s an age limit on that. I’m not saying my writer is old. Hell, she’s barely old enough to remember 8-tracks. Remember those? Man, I had an 8-track player in my car, and a shoebox full of–

“What are you doing?”

“I’m writing your blog post. It’s Saturday, love. You’re late with it.”

“Late? I went to orientation yesterday, and today I was working on getting ready for tomorrow’s graduation party. Thank God my sister-in-law offered to host it. And we went to my husband’s cousin’s daughter’s grad party.”

“Who?”

“Never mind.” She rubs her right temple. “And my sinus headache. Man, I hope the surgery fixes it. What are you–”

“I’m taking care of it this week.” I block her from the laptop. “It’s my turn.”

She jams her fists onto her hips. “The last time you ‘had’,” she makes air quotes, “to write a post for me, you grumbled about it. Why are you so eager to do it this time?”

She’s so cute when she’s mad. “Because I was feeling generous, love. I know you’ve got stuff going on. Grad party tomorrow, and a whole lot of other things the next few weeks. You haven’t been working on your WIP.” I tap my wrist to remind her. “Your deadline is coming up.”

“Uh huh. What’s up with you?”

“Me? Nothing.” I use my most persuasive voice, the one the ladies like. She always falls for that.

An eyebrow arches. “Why don’t I believe you?”

I shrug. “Don’t know. Point is, you need to work on your WIP.”

“After tomorrow. Once that’s over, I can refocus.”

“Until when? Monday? Tuesday? You cannot afford to miss this opportunity, love.” This is the kicker, kids. Revision takes time. Way more time than most writers realize. Granted, I know she wasn’t expecting to get requests for the full manuscript, but I would’ve told her the odds were in that direction if she’d listened.

What’s a Muse to do when his writer doesn’t listen to him? And it’s not just the pure revision. It’s the feedback from critique partners, the time it takes for them to read and write comments. And then the time for the writer to review and incorporate that feedback into the draft.

“I still need to finish reading my writing sister’s manuscript and writing up feedback.”

She can be so aggravating. “You will work on your WIP after the graduation business tomorrow.”

She’s speechless, which means she knows I’m right. Don’t tell her, but I love being right.

“Fine. Now let me read your post.” She tries to swipe the computer.

I hold her back. “Nope. Mine this time.”

“You know I can always delete it if I don’t like it.”

“Yes, but you won’t.” She’ll like it. And even if she doesn’t, I know her. She won’t delete it. “Go. Away. Let me finish, then we’ll discuss the new scene in your WIP, the one between Quinn and the victim’s boyfriend’s brother.”

She heads to the dorm fridge and grabs a beer. “Fine.”

She leaves the office, and doesn’t slam the door. I’m impressed. Anyway, back to the point. Revision. Bottom line, don’t rush through revisions. My writer is very fortunate to have some really great critique partners. Don’t skip that part. No matter how many times you’ve gone through your manuscript, you need other eyes on it.

Okay, that’s all I’ve got tonight. Write well, everyone. Next week, I’m sure Julie will make sure she writes the post.

I like to mess with her, but don’t tell her that. πŸ˜€

 

 

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen names: J. M. Holmes, J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". I write adult mystery with a touch of romance, mystery with extrasensory elements, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy, and I'm represented by the fabulous Cynthia Zigmund of Second City Publishing Services. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our hobby farm, and Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

5 thoughts on “Posting from the other side

  1. I’d like to convince my muse to write a few posts for me. Any suggestions? She’s never offered.
    Tell Julie, congrats on all the exciting news and changes. πŸ™‚ Happy Writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOVED THIS!! So much fun hearing his voice and seeing you from the other side. For all that you’ve got going on this was an ingenious post. Sssh! I won’t tell your muse πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Glad you liked this. Been kinda overwhelmed with all the stuff going on the next couple weeks, so he took the opportunity. Finished up son’s grad party today–whew! Now, back to the WIP before he brings out his own whip πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

