Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Musing Mail

15 Comments

*Knock, knock*

“Hang on.” I finish my train of though before it escapes. Ever had that problem? You’re on a roll, with the words just tumbling out of your head onto the page, when someone calls for Mom and asks if there’s another gallon of milk in the basement refrigerator, and poof, it’s gone. That beautiful turn of phrase that was just perfect is gone.

*Knock, knock*

I open the door of my writing office. My Muse sidles past me and leans over my desk–no, my computer screen. “You forgot a comma here.”

“Why did you bother to knock?”

He taps the key, then straightens before extending a handful of envelopes. “What the hell are these?”

“They look like envelopes.” I have to smile. He seems a bit off his game, somehow. It’s kinda charming. “Why?”

He stabs them at me. “No, look at them.”

Shit. Fine. I take the stack. Each envelope is addressed to my Muse, in care of me. “Um, I didn’t know you could get mail.”

“Neither did I.” He snatches the envelopes from my hand and starts to pace. “This is your fault.”

“Excuse me?” I lean against the closed door. “How is it my fault?”

He stops. “You and your blog. You didn’t start out talking about us, and now you do, and now look at this.” He thrusts the stack at me. “It’s fan mail. Fan mail! For a Muse? Muses don’t get fan mail. Muses aren’t supposed to get fan mail.”

I have to chuckle. “You know, my Muse posts are my most popular posts. They like you. You even helped one of my fellow bloggers once when she was stuck on something. And you wouldn’t have met your pub crawl buddy, Mr. E, if I hadn’t started posting about you.”

“Not funny, love.”

“Sure it is.” Yep, he’s off his game. Still looks good, though. He’s wearing the burgundy Henley shirt I like, sleeves shoved halfway up his forearms, and his hair is mussed, like he’s been combing through it with his fingers. “Besides, I’m not the only blogger who posts about my Muse.”

“What am I supposed to do with these? Send autographed head shots?”

“No. You’re supposed to read them. You know, you may be inspiring other writers’ muses to become more active.” I swipe the stack from him. “Active muses are good. You’re a role model.” Now’s probably not the time to mention I’ve been thinking about a flash fiction series about how my Muse and I met, inspired by a fellow blogger.

I nudge him to the recliner chair in a corner of my office, and turn on the tabletop fountain on the end table beside it. “Sit. You’re making me anxious. I don’t know why this bothers you. I thought you’d be focused on my revisions. I just sent three chapters out for feedback.”

“Good job. I’m proud of you,” he says in an unconvincing tone as he drops into the chair. “You’re not going to stop the Muse posts, are you?”

“Nope. I like writing them. They help inspire me, just like you do.”

He leans back, closes his eyes, and pinches the bridge of his nose before he lets out an exasperated sigh. “I got fan mail.”

I settle on an arm of the chair and rest a hand on his shoulder. “Yep, you did. Kinda flattering, isn’t it?”

“I suppose so.”

I set the envelopes beside the fountain, then pull a couple beers from the dorm-sized refrigerator in the corner. I hand him one, then twist the cap off mine. “Just think of it as positive reinforcement of a job well done.”

“What if it gets worse?”

“Tell you what. For every piece of fan mail, send an inspirational note to the writer’s muse that encourages them to be more active. Give them a couple tips to get started. You know, like ‘Five Ways to Get Your Writer Out of a Rut’.”

He tosses the cap into the trash and takes a swig of his beer. “Okay. That I can do.” He points his bottle at me. “Now, you need to get back to work. Those revisions aren’t going to write themselves.”

Hope you all are enjoying the weekend. I just ordered my seeds; I’ll have to start my onions, tomatoes, and peppers pretty soon. Man, I can’t wait for SPRING!

 

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

15 thoughts on “Musing Mail

  1. I haven’t had Lorelei, my muse, at my blog in some time. I just thought about her when I found this post. I got a little spark of inspiration this evening, and may have to post about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “You’re on a roll, with the words just rolling out of your head onto the page, when someone calls for Mom and asks if there’s another gallon of milk in the basement refrigerator, and poof, it’s gone.”

    This happens to me every single day… usually several times a day. It kills me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, right? Drives me nuts! I’ve taken to “hiding” in an upstairs bedroom to write so I don’t get interrupted. Well, that mostly works, until someone knocks on the door to tell me they need lunch money in the morning.

      Which reminds me…

      Like

  3. I love that – your muse inspiring everyone else’s and bags of fan mail! It had me smiling and musing…best get some work done before that call…yep, lunch, where is..??Can I… interruptions. I wouldn’t change it for the world though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Yep, I hate those interruptions, but until the kids are both in college, I’ll have to put up with them. And, I’ll still probably get interrupted with phone calls, etc. Glad you enjoyed this! I just hope my Muse doesn’t get an ego boost out of the whole deal… πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sssh, don’t don’t tell Mr. E. but I sent your muse a fan letter. My guy is a taskmaster, but when it comes to yours I can fall into fan girl mode and do some gushing. Of course, once they get back from the latest pub crawl, I’ll have to stop crushing and listen to what Mr. E. is telling me. He’s been pretty hot lately himself, getting me to crank out word count. Probably because he has a big part in book 2 of my Point Pleasant series. I think he likes having me write about him.

    Fun post! Let the fan club commence!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ROTFLMAO! Oh, man, that’s so awesome, Mae! I didn’t look at where the letters came from πŸ™‚ I promise I won’t mention it to him, that way he can’t let anything slip when he’s out crawlin’ with Mr. E.

      Been doing pretty okay with my revision so far, so if you want Mr. E to stick around this week, I’ll get my Muse to find something else to occupy his time, like writing those inspirational letters back to the fan mailers πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ha ha ha. I’m not surprised your muse is getting a little fan mail. I certainly have a crush on him. My muse is rolling her eyes at me as I type this. πŸ™‚ Yes, spring is right around the corner!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you liked this, D! Sounds like you had a great vacation; you’ll have to post some more pics. Can’t wait to head back to HI–our last trip to HI was over 20 yrs ago, and I suspect our next will be after the kids are out of college.

      It’s been so nice the past week–above freezing, and we even hit the 40s! Winter’s coming back next weekend, though, so I’m going to try to get some walks in this week on the trail we have by work. It’ll be good for satisfying a bit of the cabin fever starting to set in. Have a great week! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. so true the poof part πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

