Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Snowstorm = Writing

7 Comments

IMG_0437_cr Two days ago I walked down a muddy driveway onto a mushy gravel road, reveling in the glory of a January thaw. I live in Minne-snow-ta, where we’ve been spoiled absolutely rotten this year. We hit 40 degrees (F) this past weekend. I thought I’d jumped a month forward in time; it was March weather. Glorious!

Those infamous weather people have been warning about a “big” storm heading our way. Big, of course, is a matter of perspective. In my area, the last “big” snowstorm dumped all of 3″ on us about a month ago. This one, they said, would double that. Maybe even triple it if you live in the southeast corner of the state.

Even though the weather gurus said the storm wouldn’t reach us until lunch time, school was canceled (I thought for a minute I was out East–it’s a pretty preemptive strike for MN). I thought they’d at least go through noon, but we haven’t used any snow days yet this year. I went to work early (a 45-minute commute on a good day) and figured I’d head out before the storm reached home base.

Have you ever watched the National Weather Service radar? It’s great. I watched the storm creep ever closer to home, and wouldn’t you know it, those weather gurus were right on the money for timing. Before the radar echo hit home base, I left work (with my boss’ blessing and a promise to finish up the day’s work from home). What a nice drive–no, seriously. I saw no snow falling at all until I was about 10 miles from home. Snow slithered in ribbons across the road, but the visibility wasn’t bad. I thought the school surely could’ve gone at least half a day. I thought maybe I was being a little too cautious by leaving work when I did. I could’ve stayed another half hour, right?

Then I got about 8 miles from home base.

Have you ever seen a fog bank, where the fog is more wall than cloud? Now, imagine driving into it, but wind-wrangled snow instead of fog. Those last 8 miles assured me I’d made the right decision to leave work when I did. Had I waited another half hour, the conditions would’ve gone from “not too bad yet” to “this sucks”.

IMG_0440_cr

This shot is out our “backyard” toward town, about a mile away. If you look real close, you can see the faint shadow of town in the distance.

We’ve gotten about 3″ so far, I think. Anyway, I finished up work for the day, and now I’m playing catch up. This post is late, I’ve got a dozen or more posts from blogs I follow to catch up on, and I’m almost done tweaking my manuscript. Then back to my WIP.

I like snowstorms, as long as I don’t have to drive in them. They’re a great muse, quite soothing in the hypnotic paths of falling snow and hushed sound. I think I’ll break out a cup of cocoa and watch the storm for a few minutes. Yes, that sounds lovely.

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, six chicken, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

7 thoughts on “Snowstorm = Writing

  1. I kind of miss the snow-dumps we used to enjoy in Vermont. It’s beautiful when you’re safe and warm at home. Break out that cocoa, Julie, and have fun with the snowy muse 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I love watching the snow–as long as I’m safe and warm at home 🙂 The kids are home, though, and fighting over our limited DSL bandwidth, so not as peaceful as I’d like, but I should be able to get my tweaks done on my mss tonight, then back to the WIP!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the “hush” that snowstorms bring. They make the whole world slow and stand still for a while. Of course, the cleanup that follows is far from fun.

    So glad you made it home safely. I love weather radar! I’m constantly checking it out. It’s great how you can watch storms roll in.

    I’ve been caught in unbelievably dense fog twice in my life, but both times were on the water in a boat. Fog is scary stuff. I can’t imagine having it a white-wall of snow instead.

    Enjoy your cocoa. Wishing you all kinds of progress on your WIP! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mae! The snow’s supposed to wind down by “oh dark thirty”, but the wind is supposed to kick in. So, hubby won’t snowblow the driveway (1/4 mile) until the wind dies down. So, probably working from home tomorrow. I love a job where I can telecommute! Not sure if school will be open, but if it is, it’ll likely be 2 hrs late.

      Mmm, cocoa! And putting the last of the tweaks on my mss. Tomorrow, WIP Ho!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you got home safely and in time to enjoy the snow. Definitely preferable to enjoy the snow from home with a cosy cup of hot chocolate and marshmallows – particularly if you’ve been out building snowmen or having a snowball game beforehand!😀 Not seen any of the white stuff here in the south of the UK so far…grrr…but off to Sweden in two weeks time, so keeping my fingers crossed. Just as long as we can get into the houses!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Here’s hoping there’s snow in Sweden for you! So nice to watch the snow from inside a warm house with a cup of cocoa. Now to get my hubby to snowblow the driveway before the next round later this week. We’ve been pretty spoiled so far this season (well, in my world, because I haven’t had to worry about driving through snowstorms 🙂 ), but the new snow is so pretty!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can feel your joy and sense of fun! No snowblowers for us in Sweden although we’ve kindly asked a neighbour with a tractor to clear the so we can park the car. Knowing him he’ll dig a way for us to the front door – fingers crossed! Enjoy the winter season!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

