Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

To the Revision Cave

8 Comments

Hey, how was everyone’s holiday weekend? Get enough to eat? Shop enough? Speaking of shopping, have I got a deal on a moody teenager for you–er, wait. *checks parenting rules* Um, forget that last part. Anyone know where I can find a time machine–cheap? I need five years. Just shoot me five years into the future. Please?

Anyway, just popping in for a quick note. As you know, I’ve been banging my head against the wall of revisions for my WIP, and my Muse has been trying to help (bless his heart), but I think I put him off this weekend. He visited a writer friend and helped her with a character while I was wandering in the Valley of Dark Moods (I got lost. Note to self: do not follow the moody teenager.).

This writer friend is working on her own deep revisions, and she asked me to write a guest post about my process. You can find it on Sue Bahr‘s blog. **Just a note: the Karen Wiesner book I use is First Draft in 30 Days. The title got twisted a little somewhere along the way.

Stop by Sue’s blog and say ‘hi’! She’s got some fun stuff going on over there. I’m heading back to the Revision Cave now. Well, after work and driving through our first major snow storm of the season. Oh boy. I can do snow through Christmas, but after that, I’m ready for spring. Who’s with me?

 

 

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, one chicken, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

8 thoughts on “To the Revision Cave

  1. Oh dear, Muse gone awol and moody teenager – that is a lot of emotion there – no wonder you’re heading to your Revision Cave. Good luck down there and pop by now and then to check out the snow and perhaps build a snowman with said teenager? Not happening maybe? We might get some snow, usually January time if it comes to the UK and then the country grinds to a halt. I love the quiet clean beauty of it though so will suffer everyone else complaining quite happily. Go on, send some our way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Funny you should mention snow. We’re due for our first actual snow storm of the season starting later today through tomorrow. We’re predicted to have 5 to 6 inches of heavy wet snow by tomorrow night. Luckily, the temps will be above freezing the rest of the week, so if luck holds, we’ll reduce our snow depth by half or more.

      Ahhh, life with a teenager. So many notes to self: Don’t take it personally. Karma will pay her back eventually. This too shall pass (though not fast enough). Never had the drama with my son, who’s turning 18 before the holidays. The difference between boys and girls, I guess. We used to build a snowman every year with the first good wet snow. Might have to try it again this year–thanks for the idea!

      Enjoy the weeks before Christmas, and may you get to see snow by the end of the year!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Snow sends my teens into a tizzy. My oldest is plotting her escape to LA soon. She can’t take another winter. Did I mention she’s 19?
    Where’d I put those little blue happy pills…
    Just a dusting of snow here. Sometimes the storms are the fun part. They just get old so fast.
    Hope your muse is behaving. Maybe try chocolate?
    Thanks again, Julie, for putting such an awesome post together. I got one comment- “this is good info on serious rewrites.”
    I agree!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m okay with snow, as long as I don’t have to drive in it. Had a light snow storm on Turkey Day, and made my 15 yo drive. A van. In the suburbs on the freeway. Can’t learn if you don’t do. We made it unscathed, though she sure put up a stink about it.

      Glad to hear the post went over well! Now all I have to do is actually work on those revisions… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great guest post. I hopped over and left a comment.
    All we’ve seen so far are a few flurries. The thought of an actual snow storm…UGH! I am so not ready for winter weather!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by Sue’s blog, Mae! We’ve reached about two inches, I think so far today/tonight. Snow’s supposed to keep on falling through tomorrow. One of my favorite things about my job–I can work from home if I need to. Anything to avoid driving in the first snowstorm of the season. Even in MN it takes people one or two storms before everyone remembers how to drive in the snow :-0

      I agree–so not ready for winter! We’ve been spoiled this year with one of the warmest Novembers on record. Sure beats last year when the high on Thanksgiving was a measly 10 degrees above zero (F)!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great guest post. I follow a similar process though I do the written part in excel. I’ll second your appreciation for writer critique groups – I would never have published without one. And the snow…I’m a little jealous – we’re having more rain. Be safe, stay warm.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yep, writing groups are a must, and I’ve heard some horror stories about finding the wrong group. I feel incredibly fortunate for my writing sisters. Six strangers spend a week at a writing retreat with a mentor, and the seven of us are still supporting each other through the trenches. We got about two inches of snow, but the forecast is for balmy above-freezing temps, so it won’t last long. Personally, I’m good with that! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

