Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Writer’s log, Day 11

14 Comments

Writer’s log, NaNoWriMo Day 11–

The Internet was down the night before last, not that it mattered. Daughter’s tennis award dinner that same night ate up a couple hours. After I returned home, I couldn’t find my Muse. He went AWOL again, even after he agreed to stick close. Needless to say, not much writing done. *grumble*

November weather unseasonably awesome for MN. Last year, 20 degree highs–January weather in November. This year, we’re still pulling close to 60 degree highs. Yesterday was supposed to be the last nice day for a while. Walked during lunch, but missed a final outdoor run for the year after work. That early sunset just doesn’t work well for running along a dirt road with big grain trucks lumbering by.

Craft beer supply depleted. Maybe that’s why my Muse disappeared. Note to self: stock up on the way home.

Slogging through a new chapter added to support the revamped plot line in WIP. Trying to balance MC fear factor without overacting. Note to self: Do NOT watch Star Trek reruns. Correction, do NOT watch Bill Shatner in any shows.

Where’s my Muse? Gawd, he’s not even around for my blog post. I suppose he got tired of waiting.

“You are fecking pathetic, you know that?”

I don’t bother turning around. “Gee, nice of you to show up.”

“Really? You’re going to open that door? Not a good idea.” The sweet, smoky scent of burning autumn leaves surrounds me. “You’re out of craft beer.”

“I’m stopping to pick up more on my way home. Is that the only reason you stick around?”

“No, love, I stick around because I enjoy browbeating you.” I don’t hear sarcasm in his voice. He continues before I can interrupt. “I’m here to guide you, just like every other muse. I hear, though, I’m a bit harsher than others. Is that why you aren’t writing? Am I too hard on you?”

“No. I’m not writing because, like you said last week, someone keeps shaking the marbles and they won’t stop moving.” Sigh. “It’s supposed to be icky outside the next few days. The plan is to write.”

He appears in my field of vision when he rests a hip on my desk. He’s still rockin’ the rugged look, complete with flannel, denim, and trail boots, but clean-shaven this time. “How far did you get last night?”

I give him the stink-eye. “Two chapters, no thanks to you. I started dozing off, so I had to pack it up for the evening.”

He sets a collection of items on my desk. A folder with the University of MN logo, a snowball that isn’t melting for some reason, and something that reminds me of the cat harness we had when I was a kid. I have no idea why we had a cat harness; we never walked the cats.

Each piece plays a part in the next few chapters of my WIP. I have to check out that snowball. It’s cold, slippery, but isn’t melting. Weird. “What? Emptying your pockets? I don’t need this stuff. I know where the next scenes are going.” I pick up the harness. “Ferret?”

“Of course it’s for a ferret. This ‘stuff’ is to remind you to focus on the story.”

“Where’s my Dash-8? I mean, if you’re going to go all out,” I add with a healthy dose of sarcasm.

He hands me a wad of cotton fabric. When I un-wad it, a print of a DeHavilland Dash-8 airplane covers the front of the t-shirt. 9ec94f32b0022767804c40f540da9000d421bf56

“Gee, thanks.”

He pulls a chair up next to me and sits, bottle of craft beer in hand–when’d he get that? “Ready? We’ve got a blizzard, an UNSUB, and a romantic thread to work on.” He twists the cap off the bottle and snaps it across the room. “Let’s get to it.”

Writer’s log, Day 11. Muse returned. Back to work!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, six chicken, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

14 thoughts on “Writer’s log, Day 11

  1. I love your muse. He’s such an anti-hero. I think you should write a book about him and you. Really, I love these posts!
    Hope you were able to crack that beer and write!
    Cheers!
    Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Sue! Hmm, a book about my Muse. Could be a load of fun, though his ego’s healthy enough as it is πŸ˜‰ Wow, now you have my imagination running. A series of vignettes about me and my Muse… that could work πŸ™‚

      You’re doing pretty well for NaNo. Keep writing!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just love that guy. I need me a decent muse! I’ve been picking at Nano- not sure how much I’ll continue. Just heard back from an acquisition editor re my ya fantasy. Looks promising, but a major overhaul needed. Have you ever done such a huge edit? Cause I have no idea where to even start!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Congrats on a positive response from the editor! Actually, I’m in the midst of a major overhaul of my WIP. I wrote my WIP in a self-imposed NaNo in Feb, so I’m trying to focus on a major overhaul now. I got some awesome plot change suggestions from my writing sisters, so I’m revising pretty heavily. I started with a sort-of outline of the whole shebang–I listed each scene, POV, characters (just MCs) and a short blurb about the scene. Now I’m working my way through, using the outline as a guide to keep me on track.

        Good luck!

        Like

      • Thank you! She’s amazing- so happy to chat about the things this manuscript needs!
        It’s great to hear how you’re approaching these re-writes. I wonder if you’d be interested in doing a guest post for me on my authors site (not WordPress)? I’d love to share insights and tips on how other authors handle writing and editing. This is a big one for me. I’m a micro editor- terrible at the big picture stuff!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’d love to do a guest post for you. I’ll send you my email address, so watch your aol.com email πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Got it! I’ll send some questions tomorrow. No rush. So excited to hear your thoughts on editing! Thanks again!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. DAy 11 – argghh…those first eleven days went fast. Glad your muse returned and you just tell him to stay put now. Seems he needs firm handling!πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your muse has got some interesting threads lined up for you. Now that he’s settled in with his craft beer, hopefully the two of you are kicking some story tail! Wow, almost half of November gone already. Hard to believe it whisks by so quickly. Sending you good vibes for happy scribing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mae! Did pretty good last night, and the weather continues to be rainy and windy, so I’m anticipating another good session tonight. On the docket is the blizzard and the romantic thread. And, stocked up on the brewskis, so we should be good to go! Happy writing to you as well! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is harder than I thought it would be, Julie. Your muse is tough on you. Mine is huffy and sulking. The Overlord descended for his first ever overnight and she couldn’t compete with a 2-year-old, to her utter mortification. Less than 500 words yesterday and not a word today. I promised her 3,000 words tomorrow and she says she’ll believe it when she sees it. Happy writing! You are doing great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t worry, D. You’re doing great! There will be days you can’t get your word count in, but there will be days when the words bubble out to make up for them.

      Time spent with the Overlord will likely fuel future stories πŸ™‚ The antics of a 2-yr-old can be quite entertaining!

      Keep writing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

