Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Day 3, Quote 3

8 Comments

It’s Monday, and Day 3 of the 3 days, 3 quotes challenge presented to me by my blogging buddy Emily Bates over at Bumblesbooks. I haven’t decided yet if I want to use a snarky quote, an inspirational one, a funny one, or a deep one (like, Lao Tzu deep).

So, now I get to hunt down one last quote (why do I keep imagining Elmer Fudd searching the woods for his wascally wabbit?). Not to mention, I get to tag one other lucky blogger each day to join in the fun (cue evil laugh here 🙂 )

So, here I am, searching for writing quotes, and I find a page from Writer’s Digest that lists 72 quotes for writers. All of them are excellent quotes for writers, but I picked this one:

“People say, ‘What advice do you have for people who want to be writers?’ I say, they don’t really need advice, they know they want to be writers, and they’re gonna do it. Those people who know that they really want to do this and are cut out for it, they know it.”
—R.L. Stine, WD (this quote is from an interview with Stine that ran in our November/December 2011 issue)

I hear Charlie Rose ask authors this all the time, and I always seem to tune out the answers. There are standard answers, like: Write Every Day. I think Stine had it right. If you want to be a writer, I mean, really want to be a writer, you know what you need to do. You need to write as often as possible. You need to learn the craft of writing, whether it is fiction, poetry, or whatever. You need to find other writers to critique your work.

I toyed with the idea of being a real writer for years before I actually tried it. I had so many story ideas, but I didn’t recognize that I had to write. Writers have to write. We go crazy, otherwise. I’m feeling like that now. I spent five glorious days of doing nothing but writing, talking about writing, working out story revisions, and spending time with my writing sisters. When I returned home all charged up to do my revisions for my WIP, reality kicked in. First, head to the garden and pick all the produce that needs to be picked (to answer your question, a LOT). Next, process the produce into pickles and canned tomatoes. Then, some “it can’t wait any longer” chores. Then, off to work. Then, more garden chores. Then family obligations since my sister came home this weekend–haven’t seen her since Christmas.

I’m feeling it. There’s an impatience inside, an anxiety that translates into tension, crankiness, and now segueing into a general malaise. I need to write. I need to work on my WIP while my inspiration is fresh, but I’m working against real life. It’s the consummate struggle writers face, those of us who have full-time jobs, are full-time parents, and have more than a small apartment to maintain. Real life versus the craft we crave. Cleaning house versus revising that chapter. It’s a battle between responsibility and want–no, need. Writers need to write.

Okay, I’m finished. Thanks for letting me blow off just a bit of frustration 🙂 Anywho, there’s my quote for day 3.  And to share the wealth, I’d like to tag Andrea Connolly over at Captain’s Log for the 3 Days, 3 Quotes challenge. She’s another writer with a great blog. And Andrea, I haven’t forgotten about you. I’ll let you know what I find!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, six chicken, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

8 thoughts on “Day 3, Quote 3

  1. Writers HAVE to write. I agreement with that sentiment completely. I often say it to others and usually get a blank stare from non-writers. But writing is an addiction that has to be constantly fed or we feel the withdrawal. Nice close to your 3-day Challenge, Julie!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mae! It took me years, but I finally figured it out. Gotta do garden patrol tonight after work since it rained yesterday–sigh. Might possibly be able to check my WIP, if I’m not in the middle of making a batch of pickles. I can’t wait until it freezes–I am so not covering the cukes!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So true! I get so crabby when I can’t release that creative energy into words on a page. Sometimes, there are things in real life that just have to slide so I can get my fiction fix. 🙂 Great quote!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great quote. Yes, writer’s have to write and they can’t really help themselves. It’s a craving that must be sated for everyone’s sake. That said… a little advice now and then doesn’t hurt. I sure needed it! Lots of it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

