Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Day 2, Quote 2

9 Comments

Welcome to day 2 of the 3 days, 3 quotes challenge presented to me by my blogging buddy Emily Bates over at Bumblesbooks. I don’t have a collection of favorite quotes, because I know once I save them, I won’t be able to find the one I want (my desk at work is kinda like that, but hey, I know where everything is–unless I clean it) I know a few sources I love to check when I do need a quote for something.

So, now I get to hunt down an awesome quote each day. The better part–I get to tag one other lucky blogger each day to join in the fun (cue evil laugh here πŸ™‚ )

Remember the days before Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook, back when you emailed the good humor jokes and quotes to your friends instead of posting them? Ah, those were the days! My favorite emailed humor always starred Hallmark Cards’ famed grouchy old woman, Maxine. I think someone in the office even had one of those daily desk calendars of Maxine quotes; I remember taping a couple daily pages next to my desk because those particular quotes were just perfect.

Maxine margaritaThis is one of many I found when I went on my quote hunt this morning. I thought about including all the ones I found, but maybe I should start a quote collection instead, for the next time someone tags me for a quote challenge πŸ™‚

Just like yesterday’s pick, this one reminds me of my writing sisters. I also substitute “Muse” for “friends”, because he’s just like that. The think I love most about Maxine is how she can say so much in one or two short sentences. Here’s another example:

Sometimes wouldn’t you like to just put the whole day in your toilet……and then flush!

Right? Raise your hand if you’ve ever had a day like that. Yep, I knew it. Okay, I can’t resist. One more. Writer’s block, anyone?Β Maxine brain

Did you ever haunt the local mall with your best friend or two from high school? One of the things we used to do was find the Hallmark store and read the Maxine cards. If it would’ve been a library, they would’ve kicked us out in the first minute.

Besides Maxine, I’ve always found Calvin and Hobbes great at pick-me-ups. I’ve got a few of the Calvin and Hobbes collections, and they’ve become well-worn. When I’m feeling low, or just grumpy, reading something funny helps to brighten the day. Of course, that doesn’t help much with writer’s block, but it sure makes the day seem lighter.

What do you read to feel better during a down-in-the-dumps day? Do you head to the Hallmark Cards store at the mall and hang out in Maxine’s section for a bit? Do you dig your old Garfield books out of their dusty corner of your bookshelf? Maybe you’re a Robert Frost sort of person, and turn to him or Sandburg to help you return to calm.

There’s my quote for day 2. Now back to hunting for the next one. And to share the wealth, I’d like to tag D Peach Wallace over at Myths of the Mirror for the 3 Days, 3 Quotes challenge. She’s got a great blog, and maybe she has a secret folder of quotes stashed somewhere. Head on over to her blog; she posts some great stuff.

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen names: J. M. Holmes, J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". I write adult mystery with a touch of romance, mystery with extrasensory elements, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy, and I'm represented by the fabulous Cynthia Zigmund of Second City Publishing Services. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our hobby farm, and Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

9 thoughts on “Day 2, Quote 2

  1. Guess what? I have a Mom who receives big manila envelopes with Maxine cartoons from her pen pal named “Pookie” and I write posts from time to time about their correspondence. πŸ™‚ if you visit my post sometime you may check out a long list of “tags” on the right hand part of the page. Maxine and then Jon the artist is on this long list. Even a post about the long lost art of penmanship and letter writing. If you are like me, time runs out before I have a chance to read very much, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, great quotes! I’m glad you reminded me about this crazy old Hallmark lady. πŸ™‚ And Calvin and Hobbes is one of my all-time favorites! It’s gotten to the point that my husband just laughs every time I start a sentence with “There’s this one Calvin and Hobbes…” Which is insanely often.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Absolutely LOVE Maxine! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the quote, Julie. Great friends are just like that!
    Thanks for the kind comment and challenge! I’m going to back-pocket it for now as I just did one a little while ago. I always enjoy reading these. So many wise souls out there. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

