Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Day 1, Quote 1

9 Comments

I’m relatively new to the world of blogging–I started about a year ago. Since then, I’ve made connections with some wonderful people, writers who are witty, or profound, or insightful, or everything rolled up together in a neat little package. How cool is that!

I’ve also been tagged for a couple challenges in the past year, and I’ve just been tagged for another. This one is the three quotes in three days challenge, which I haven’t seen yet, but my blogging buddy Emily Bates over at Bumblesbooks tagged me for this one. Now, I’m not one to squirrel away awesome quotes I find, simply because I would never be able to remember I have them, and wouldn’t be able to find the ones I really like when I want to find them. However, I know a few sources I love to check when I do need a quote for something.

So, now it’s time to hunt down an awesome quote each day for the next three days. The better part–I get to tag one other lucky blogger each day to join in the fun (cue evil laugh here πŸ™‚ ) So, without further procrastin–ah, I mean, ado, here goes nothing.

When I think of people who say witty things on the spur of the moment, Mark Twain always comes to mind. He’s one of those people I think would be fascinating to talk to for an afternoon. Whenever I read his speeches, or see a documentary on him, I’m always amazed by what he says. Here’s one that stuck with me:

I think this quote struck me because I just spent time with my writing sisters. We are seven women, including our mentor, who do what we can to help each other succeed in our writing endeavors. Writers seem to be like that as a whole. I’ve run across so many more accomplished writers than myself who are willing to help other writers continue to improve. I’ve found the community of writers to be friendly, encouraging, and fun, both online and in person. I’m sure there are sour grapes out there, as there are no matter what your interest or hobby is, but I’ve been fortunate not to cross paths with them.

So, here’s my first quote for my first day. Now back to hunting for the next one. And to share the wealth, I’d like to tag Mae Clair for the 3 Days, 3 Quotes challenge (hey, Mae, you still owe me 5 Days, 5 Pictures πŸ˜‰ ). She’s been on a book blog tour for her latest novel, Myth and Magic, but maybe she has a secret folder of quotes stashed somewhere.

Take a few minutes and head on over to the Meet Your Main Character blog this month. We’ve got an awesome Top 5 this month, and our guest blogger’s hilarious post should be up soon. We’ve got a new member as well, and her introductory post is a fun read.

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen names: J. M. Holmes, J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". I write adult mystery with a touch of romance, mystery with extrasensory elements, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy, and I'm represented by the fabulous Cynthia Zigmund of Second City Publishing Services. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our hobby farm, and Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

9 thoughts on “Day 1, Quote 1

  1. I love Mark Twain! Have you read his autobiography? I haven’t read the whole thing yet, but I’ve read bits, and it’s brilliant. I hadn’t heard that quote from him before, but it’s a great one! So true. It’s important to look for friends who build us up and make us great instead of tearing is down.

    Like

  2. I admire Mark Twain and his natural style of writing. He is definitely an author I respect. Good luck in your 2nd year of writing. I changed direction in my 2nd year from my personal attempts to find love to including my “byline” is: “Relationships reveal our hearts.”

    Like

    • Thank you, Reo. I’ve been writing since fourth grade, and I’ve gone through the science fiction stage, the fantasy stage, and I’m now at the mystery stage. My current WIP is a romantic mystery I’m very excited about. Good luck to you in finding love πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Mark Twain is one of my favorite authors. Every time I’m asked what author I’d like to meet living or dead, he (along with Dickens and the Preston/Child team) immediately springs to mind! And hey, I really will try to give the three day thing a try. I know I still have the 5 pics too (and was tagged in another 777 writing challenge). I came off tour and immediately got swamped with editing two books and writing a third. If only there were a way to squeeze more hours into the day, LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful quote and so true. Fortunately, most writers I’ve encountered are of the “great” category.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Catching up on Challenges (and cheating along the way) by Mae Clair | From the Pen of Mae Clair

Leave a Reply

