Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Stay cool!

5 Comments

I don’t make lemonade. Well, okay, I make it for family gatherings at my dad’s place, but I cheat every time. Pour a little powder in a pitcher, add water and ice, and stir. Easy-peasy. They even have the stuff you don’t need to add sugar to. Whatever happened to the Kool-Aid man?

Me, I like ice water. Ice-cold craft beer if the kids aren’t around. I do, however, draw the line at retrieving water or other beverages for someone else unless it’s a) a family gathering, or b) my spouse (and then only when he asks nicely and I’m going to get a drink for myself anyway). And “please” is required. So, needless to say, I didn’t bring a bribe with me when I found my Muse tucked away in a hammock under the shade of the trees.

He has an arm over his eyes, and an MP3 player on his oh-so-fine chest. Either he’s sleeping, meditating, or listening to an audio book. I tug an earbud free of his ear. He doesn’t move. “Hey.”

He still doesn’t move. “What?”

“Heat advisory today. The National Weather Service is predicting a heat index of 100-105 degrees. No outdoor activity is recommended.”

“And? That doesn’t start until this afternoon.”

“Yes, so I have no excuse not to work on my WIP. Why is it you’re not hounding me?”

Now he adjusts his forearm enough to peer at me. “Doesn’t seem to do much good, lately. I’m tired.”

Good point, I guess. I’ve been spending most of my free time weeding, picking wild black raspberries, trucking my daughter to appointments, and listening to same talk endlessly about One Direction fanfic, 1D concerts, 1D videos, 1D secret marriages, the list goes on. And on the occasions I’m not involved with the above, my creative energy needs a push, hence the reason my post is so late (or early for this week 😉 )

It appears my “push” has been lounging around for a while. “Really? I had to drag you into my writing space the other day to get my random topic for my Meet Your Main Character writing group finished. And now, look at you. I’m trying to get my blog post done, and you’re laying around listening to what? Yanni? Ocean waves?”

He covers his eyes again. “You, at the moment. You know, you could’ve brought something to entice me. A nice cold beer would taste good.”

Grumble. “If you’d been hounding me, I just might consider doing that. You know where the fridge is.” I am so tempted to tip him out of that hammock.

“Not a good idea, love. I know what you’re thinking.”

“Fine. I need your help this afternoon. Please.”

He tucks the earbud back into place. “Yup. Quiet time. Have a cold one waiting for me, and I’ll be there.”

Sigh.

Anyway, now’s the time the weeds are turbocharged. Here’s a shot of the garden.

IMG_0077My Brussels sprouts are doing well, even under the cabbage worm attacks. We’ve already had sprouts; they get sweeter after a frost, but hey, I can’t wait that long.

I let my radishes go to seed to give the bees more flowers to work with. The cilantro and dill are blooming, and the borage buzzes with bees. I’m a proponent of giving the bees lots of opportunity to find nectar. We are surrounded by farm fields full of corn (wind-pollinated), soybeans (self-fertile, so needs no pollinators), and a “backyard” full of grasses, stinging nettle, and giant ragweed, all wind-pollinated.

The downside? The garden looks trashy with the borage, cilantro, dill, and radishes all sprawling and blooming. I pull the radishes and borage after they’re done blooming, and let the dill and cilantro seed. The cilantro will come up again before winter.

Heat advisory today, so hoping to get my pages for my writing sisters ready to send out. Enjoy the weekend and stay cool!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

5 thoughts on “Stay cool!

  1. I always enjoy your interactions with your muse. Quite a tumultuous romance. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My muse has been slacking lately, too. I spent two hours working on blog and book promo stuff yesterday then called it quits for the pool. Same thing planned for today. I don’t have a lovely garden distracting me (btw, I love Brussels sprouts and so few people do!) but that darn pool is too tempting when it’s hot outside.

    Another enjoyable post with your muse! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mae! Wish I had a pool–it’s going to be nasty hot and humid today. It’s already so humid you can almost swim in the air. Ugh. Then again, if I did have a pool, what a wonderful distraction. 🙂 I need to pick some more sprouts; if I leave them too long this time of year, the plants want to grow more stems, and they get loose instead of nice tight mini-cabbages.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yum! You’re making me hungry for Brussels sprouts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

