Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

The 777 Writer’s Challenge

4 Comments

The 777 Writer’s Challenge is making the rounds again. Love this one, as it’s a lot of fun and gets us refocused on our WIPs.

I was tagged by Mae Clair, who is currently on a blog tour promoting her new book, Myth and Magic. Check out her blog. She does a fun Mythic Monday post every week that stirs up the creative juices. She’s one of the great people I’ve met since I started participating in the writers’ realm. I’ve been writing for years, and the Internet is a wonderful medium for meeting other writers, especially when one can’t attend other writerly gatherings like conferences or workshops.

So, per the 777 Writing Challenge:

Go to Page 7 of your work-in-progress, scroll down to line 7, and share the next 7 sentences in a blog post. Once you have done that, tag 7 other bloggers to do the same with their WIP.

I’m sharing a snippet from JUST PLANE DEAD, my current WIP and the result of a self-imposed NaNoWriMo session this past February (and in case you were wondering, yes, I did manage to write over 50k words in 28 days). This is part of the opening scene, where my protagonist, female aircraft mechanic Sierra Bauer, is starting on an inspection of an airplane. She’s being shadowed (for training purposes) by a chauvinistic mechanic from another maintenance base. Keep in mind this is revision 2 of the rough draft, hence the surplus “was” words (Fire sale on “was”! Step right up!) I’ve been battling weeds and neglecting my WIP, but it rained this morning, so I have an excuse to neglect the garden tonight 🙂

“What first, boss?”

At his condescending tone, her first reaction was to chew his ass. He was being a jerk, and she knew it was either because that’s just the way he was, or, more likely, because she was the expert here, not him. He was one of the most experienced mechanics on the Fokkers, but the beasts hadn’t flown into or out of the Minneapolis-St. Paul airport for two years, and the Dash-8 was about as similar to a Fokker as a late-model sedan was to a Sherman tank. She reminded herself to be nice. “Grab a stand, get the removal handles from the tool room, and pull the left nose cone. Then start the inspection in the cockpit.”

And now I’d like to challenge the following 7 writer/bloggers. Participate if you can, but no worries if you can’t!

Ali Isaac
Andrea Connolly
Stuart M. Perkins
Anna Dobritt
Emily Bates
D. Wallace Peach
Nicholas C. Rossis

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

4 thoughts on “The 777 Writer’s Challenge

  1. Very cool! I’m glad she put him in his place. It sounds like she really knows her stuff!

    Thanks for playing and many thanks too for the kind words about me and my blog. So glad we connected! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Likewise! 🙂 I’ve met some really neat people with some really fun blogs. Thanks for the challenge–you’re right about the challenge drawing me back into my WIP–I needed that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey! Thanks for the challenge. This sounds like fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thought I’d share! Looking forward to your 7 lines!

    Like

Leave a Reply

