Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Brainstorming with the Muse

4 Comments

Spring is here! Happy Dance! The snow is melted, the driveway is sloppy no more, and I saw green in the lawn–and it wasn’t weeds (quackgrass doesn’t count as a weed, does it?).

Add that to the satisfaction of knowing I succeeded in my February NaNoWriMo, and I’m feeling pretty good.

Until my Muse taps me on the shoulder.

“What?” I say, annoyed at the intrusion, since I’d given him a week off. He isn’t supposed to be back on duty yet.

“Don’t snap at me, love.” He leans against the door frame, arms crossed on his chest. “You don’t pay me enough to put up with that.”

I try to listen to him, rather than just enjoy his eye-candy shell. He’s Australian, with the body of a farm boy-turned-dancer, blue eyes, sandy blond hair, and an annoying habit of appearing out of thin air rather than using the door like everyone else.

He pokes my shoulder. “Hey, pay attention. Don’t make me start singing the theme from ‘Gilligan’s Island’.”

Which, of course, makes me think of the theme from “Gilligan’s Island”. Damn. It’s gonna take all day to squash that. “Isn’t it supposed to be ‘Henry the Eighth, I Am’?”

“I didn’t audition for ‘Ghost’; I was working on another project, which you well know.” He sighs. “I want a raise.”

“That’s not why you came back from your vacation early,” I say. Besides, I don’t pay him to begin with. “Speaking of, why are you back already?”

“I’ve got a better plot for your story.”

My turn to sigh. “You came back early to tell me that? Must’ve been a lousy vacation.”

“Ah, no, I was having a great time–I’ve got the sunburn to prove it. Anyway, the plot in your aircraft mechanic story sucks.”

“Hey, you helped me with that.”

“I know, and it seemed like a good idea at the time, but the story isn’t cohesive with that plot, which you already know. You need to rewrite it before your writing sisters’ reunion in August so they can give you feedback.”

I stare at him, and not because he looks good. I give him the proverbial I-cannot-believe-you-just-said-that stare. “Um, I just spent six solid weeks on that story. Just how much of the plot are you suggesting I change?”

“You can keep the the dead body in the hell-hole, the apartment ransacking, the roommate assault, the ferret, and the snowstorm. Oh, and you can keep the ex-boyfriend and the dead one.”

My knees gel, and I drop into my office chair. “Are you freaking kidding me? Gee, that’s only, like, half the flipping story.”

He grins. I think he’s enjoying this. “So, you get to keep half the story. Just rewrite the other half.” He stretches his arms out in front of him, fingers laced, palms out. His knuckles crack. “Ready to get started?”

“Hang on.” I stand, but he’s tall enough I barely come up to his shoulder. “I’m letting that story rest for a month. And I’m not changing a word until you tell me what the new plot is.”

He rests an arm around my shoulders. “And that’s what we’re doing, love. Brainstorming. I’ve got the main plot points, so we need to come up with the details. Grab your notebook–the thick one–and a pencil. This is going to take a while.”

Ah, okay. Sorry, guys, looks like I’m going to be busy for a while.

Enjoy Spring!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

4 thoughts on “Brainstorming with the Muse

  1. That was fun! Loved the introduction to your muse, too. I think I could get distracted working with him, LOL. Sure hope you work out the new plot, because the half I heard about sounds awfully intriguing! 🙂

    Which reminds, me…I’m still trying to work out the plot of my next project and MY muse isn’t cooperating. They are such fickle creatures!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Yes, I admit sometimes he does distract me 😉 Thanks for the interest–no, seriously! Have you ever come up with a plot you thought was interesting, but when you mention it to someone, they feign interest?

      Yes, they are fickle! That’s why I try to send mine off on vacation every so often. He does, however, have a tendency to pop in not when I’m trying to write, but when I’m trying to do things like work (at work) or clean or garden. Good luck with your muse–maybe chocolate will help!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! Our muses are such a joy to have in our lives. Except when they pick the most inopportune time to make a suggestion or give us a new idea. My muse’s name is Lexie and I pay her in M&Ms. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you enjoyed it! Hmm, I wonder if my Muse would go for M&Ms. Ow! *rubs ribs* *aside to Muse* Hey, don’t elbow me. Fine, craft beer it is–and don’t ask for a raise until we get the new plot brainstorming done. Sheesh! Fickle Muse 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

