Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Wave Goodbye to Winter

4 Comments

Last Wednesday our daily high temp was a measly 9 degrees above zero. Yesterday, we broke forty-five degrees, and it’s only going to get warmer. Spring is knocking at the door!

Every year spring is an occasion of brown, dry, dirty, and skeletal landscapes that slowly turn green with renewal. For those who live in places that don’t get the seasonal changes, you are missing a great muse. I can’t imagine living in Hawaii—wait, yes, I can, but that’s beside the point—and not seeing the leaves change color in the fall, and the trees turning a fresh green in the spring. The  green takes over the brown leftovers from last year, and the landscape feels refreshed and new instead of tired and worn.

One of my favorite things in spring is the smell. It smells like spring. It’s an earthy, loamy scent that makes you think of freshly-turned soil and spring rains. The wind carries that scent tempered with warm sunshine you have to feel on your face to get the full effect. Some trees flower before they’re fully dressed for the year, and that sweet aroma rides the wind and just makes you smile. See, you’re smiling now at the thought, aren’t you?

And there’s nothing quite like opening the windows in the house for the first time after being hunkered down for months. Stale, indoor air out, fresh outside air in. Just be aware that the neighbors like to take this same opportunity to clean and air out the barns. Eew. Quick, close the windows until the wind changes direction!

What element of spring is a muse for you? The rains? Warm sunshine? Fresh leaves? Brilliant skies? Flowers? All of the above?

Next on the docket is starting my seeds. First will be the onions. I used to buy onion plants (not the sets, there is a difference: the plants are younger), then a couple years ago I figured I’d grow my own. Much lower cost (about $2.50 for 250 seeds vs $14 for 75-150 plants), and there’s nothing like seeing those slender leaves like green hair in the flats. A couple weeks later, I’ll start the peppers and tomatoes. In MN, we can start planting the cold-weather stuff like potatoes, spinach, radishes, beets, and peas by the end of April. We generally wait until closer to Memorial Day to plant the warmer-weather stuff like tomatoes, peppers, beans, cucumbers, and squash, in case it snows. Hopefully we won’t have to worry about that this year. We’re breaking ground in a new spot for the garden, so I’m hopeful the onions, spinach, and beans will do better than they have the past couple years.

Still grinding toward that last scene in my story. Met with my writing group one night, and had to attend the spring sports meeting at school another night, so I didn’t get as much writing in as I’d planned. Once done, I’ve got a guest post to write and queries to send out.

Write on!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, one chicken, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

4 thoughts on “Wave Goodbye to Winter

  1. I’m in PA and always said I’d miss the change of seasons if I moved, but after the last two winters (especially this one) I’m not so sure. I still love the renewal and freshness of spring, the smoky changes of autumn and the first snow of winter, but I might be able to live with summer all year long. My husband is of the opinion we should move south. He says we can visit when the seasons change, LOL.

    Good luck with all your gardening and may the muse inspire you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Yes, you guys got hammered this year. We got hit hard last year, so we’re really enjoying our mild-ish winter this year. My husband keeps suggesting we move to Hawaii after the kids leave home, which would be super awesome, except for the matter of high cost of living.

      I’m not as big a fan of summer as I am spring and fall, so all-year summer doesn’t have much appeal (well, unless there’s a tropical island involved), though the Northwest would be a nice moderate climate, if there was more sun involved 🙂

      Have a great week, Mae! Write on!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s been in the 60’s here in Oklahoma already, just days after snow. I do love the warm sunshine. This will be our first spring here and we are looking forward to new trees and flowers blooming and new birds. The hummingbirds should begin arriving in about a month and we are planting colorful flowers to attract them and will we hanging our first feeder. The down side of living on the lake (if there is one) is that it’s almost like a rain forest here. We get a lot of rain, but even more fog and mist. It is eerily beautiful in the early mornings, but makes old joints ache.

    Like

    • Sounds like a nice spring! It’s been warm here in MN, too, unusually so. We’ve had temps in the 50’s and 60’s here, supposed to be almost 70 today, then back to “normal” temps later this week, normal being in the 40’s. Sigh. No rain either, and with the lack of snow this winter, I hope we get some rain soon before the grass fire season really kicks in.

      Hummingbirds are so much fun! My dad does the same thing with the feeder and the flowers. Enjoy the flying gems!

      Like

Leave a Reply

