Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Why NaNoWriMo?

Leave a comment

For all those writers who thought about it, then decided not to join the madness:

The Most Important Thing You Could Hear before Starting NaNoWriMo.

This article really hit home for me. I started participating in NaNo in 2005, the year my mother passed away. I had so many stories in my head, but it took forever to get them out. I’d witnessed my mother’s rush to do so many things in the time she had left, and realized I needed to do something to kick my writing self into gear.

I still have the newspaper article from the Mpls. Star Tribune about some Twin Cities authors that do NaNo every year. My goal that first November (and every November since): build a habit of writing every day.

It worked, for the most part. I’d get up early and write before I had to go to work. Since I started my new job with a forty-five minute commute, I don’t write in the mornings anymore except on weekends, but I still try to write. And I still try to reinforce the habit.

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen names: J. M. Holmes, J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". I write adult mystery with a touch of romance, mystery with extrasensory elements, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy, and I'm represented by the fabulous Cynthia Zigmund of Second City Publishing Services. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our hobby farm, and Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

Leave a Reply

