Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

And . . . They’re off!

4 Comments

Happy NaNoWriMo Day! First day of the marathon. This is my tenth NaNo. By now I’ve gotten the hang of it. Two thousand words a day is my goal. And a daily writing habit. Actually, the daily writing habit is more important than the book, I think.

Anyone else taking the challenge? One of my Writing Sisters is taking the challenge this year with me, using the “forced” writing to work on a scene she’s redoing for her novel. I think one of the mistakes writers make with the NaNoWriMo 50,000 words in 30 days challenge is that it has to be a novel. It doesn’t. It just has to be 50,000 words.

And if a writer expects anything they write during NaNo to be polished, well, you’re going to be disappointed. NaNo is an exercise in many things: discipline, putting words on paper (either tangibly or electronically), and ignoring that inner editor that always wants you to go back and polish what you just wrote. It is not an exercise in producing awe-inspiring prose. You have to plant the seeds and get dirt under your fingernails before you can even think about how the flowers will look.

The main reason I started doing NaNo was for the discipline. I figured, in order to actually write 50,000 words, I had to write every day, otherwise I’d never make it. One of the most proclaimed pieces of writing advice is: Write Every Day. Period. And I think that’s one of the toughest things to do for writers who have full-time jobs (not writing jobs), and kids at home, and housework, and a garden or yard, and– Well, you get the picture. And it works, at least for a while, until real life starts yanking my chain around again. Once it’s a habit, it’s pretty easy to do, especially if you have a project to work on.

Which is the next benefit, in my opinion, of NaNo. I’ve had story and book ideas flailing around in my head since I was in elementary school. I think a lot of people do, especially creative people. But those stories aren’t doing any good in your head. If you don’t let them out, they just keep using your mind like a lottery ball machine, bouncing around and colliding with each other. You need to pick a number and let them out. And NaNo is the perfect opportunity to do so. Once you commit to writing 50,000 words in a month (or 1,667 words a day), you can let those stories out. Get them on paper and give them a voice. They’ll stop bothering you, or at least bother you less. Just get the words out.

And don’t edit as you go. I know, there’s that little figure that sits on your shoulder with a stubby pencil behind her ear who corrects your writing as you go. Been there. The problem is, you spend time revising what you’ve just written, and that means you don’t get anything additional put on paper. Your inner editor slows your progress to the speed of a lava flow on the Big Island (Hawaii). Guess what? If your inner editor has her way, you’ll never reach 50,000 words. You might revise the same scene 50,000 times, but that doesn’t get you any closer to the end. Flick that editor off your shoulder, open the sluice gates to your mind, and let the story flow out. Just write. Leave notes for yourself along the way. And remind yourself you’ll fix it later, after the holidays.

Got it? You’ll finish NaNo with a rough draft, one that’s likely crap-tastic, but it’s a FIRST DRAFT. They’re supposed to be crappy. But you developed the habit of writing every day. You got that story on paper after thinking about it for months, maybe even years. And after the holidays you can let your inner editor out of his cage and let him help you revise your draft to his heart’s content.

Happy NaNo-ing!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

4 thoughts on “And . . . They’re off!

  1. It’s my first time!! Scary stuff but fun too hopefully 🙂

    Like

    • It’ll be a blast. Hard work, but I think you’ll enjoy it as long as you don’t think about it too much. Don’t think “OMG, I committed to writing 50,000 words by the end of November.” Instead, think “I need to write 1,667 words today. I can do that!”

      Yes, you can definitely do that! Welcome to the marathon!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never done NaNoWriMo before, because word count goals intimidate me to the point that I don’t write anything at all. But this is a great post on why it’s really worth doing. There is so much value in writing every day and in flicking that little editor off your shoulder. (Great image, by the way.) 🙂

    Like

    • Absolutely! I know after doing NaNo, if I don’t write every day, I feel off, and guilty. Join the madness next year. It’ll be fun!

      Even if you don’t participate in NaNo, commit to writing a certain number of words every day. Even if it’s only 500 words, it’s still 500 words you didn’t write before.

      Like

Leave a Reply

