Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Lazy Summer Weekends

2 Comments

It’s one of the last weekends of summer, and school starts in a couple weeks. Where did the summer go? Granted, summer really didn’t get going here in MN until late June after we had torrential downpours that caused mudslides, closed many roads, and wiped out my garden TWICE. And it’s been a nice, cool summer. Love it! The temps, that is, not the fact my garden is a month behind. Still waiting for my tomatoes to hurry up and get ripe!

My vice, though, is lazy weekends. There are many summer weekends that include trips to various family gatherings including graduations, weddings, and birthdays. On the weekends we get to stay home, I have a tendency to kick back in an easy chair, whip out my computer, and write. Besides, the cleaning will be there tomorrow, right?

Part of me feels guilty for neglecting regular household chores, but I do have two teens in the house, and they are responsible for dishes, their own laundry, and cleaning bathrooms (Yippee!). Part of that guilt keeps my muse hanging in the wings, reluctant to sit down next to me for an hour or two of writing. The procrastinator in me clamps a hand over the guilt’s mouth and threatens it with bodily harm if it screams.

My inspirations during the summer include gorgeous sunsets and those quiet mornings when the mist hangs in the air. It’s humid and a little cool, but the fog curtains the trees and blankets sound. There’s a sense of awe that brings to mind a timelessness that leads my writer’s mind toward scenes that involve characters emerging from the fog on horseback or standing within a grove, that muted quiet swelling to fill their ears and hush their words. The fiery pink sunsets remind me to stop and watch, to impress in my mind the splendor of the vibrant colors so I can recall them later.

What inspires you during the summer? Is it gardens of flowers? A sole wildflower in the shadows of trees? The sounds of crickets or frogs at night? The smell of freshly-cut grass or hay? The buzz of cicadas? The sweat on a glass of homemade lemonade or the slow drip of ice cream down a cone? Take ten minutes and describe what you sense in the summer at one of your favorite places. It doesn’t have to be a scene, just pick a place on the beach or at a fair or on a walking trail and describe the sound of the waves or the smell of cotton candy and caramel corn.

Gotta go. My muse is waiting and his coffee mug is empty!

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, six chicken, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

2 thoughts on “Lazy Summer Weekends

  1. I’m going to take on your question as a challenge to myself and see what I come up with right here…..I have favorite sounds, favorite smells, favorite ways the wind blows – but as I was unable to travel this year, my mind jumps to the gently lapping waves of Islamorada, Florida on the Gulf Coast. The waves are so gentle one would think of a lake instead of the ocean, at the portion of the coastline I am familiar with anyway. Trees bend over the waves, forming shade as I stretch full out in the cool clear water and soft white sand underneath me. Oldies music is playing at just the right volume further back at the beach bar. There’s an occasional breeze that almost brings a chill so I move further out into the water – away from the shade. The sudden warmth of the water and the sun feels heavenly as I lean back on my elbows and let my hair float out behind me. I lay this way until I see dots dancing on the backs of my eyelids. I stand and make my way out into deeper waters to rinse sand from my swimsuit and body. I linger enjoying the clear water, watching fish dart around my feet. As I return to the sand, I drag my lounge chair down into the water under the shade of the tree and repeat the warming method as needed. What an impromptu challenge! I have such a wonderful memory in mind now…..Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome, Tammi! What a great scene! Thank you for sharing. Now I long for a return trip to Hawaii!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

