Facets of a Muse

Examining the guiding genius of writers everywhere

Musings of Muses and Inspiration

Leave a comment

Welcome to my blog! As a fiction writer, my muse is in my thoughts on a regular basis, along with the everyday chaos I like to call “real life”. If I had a choice, I’d spend more time with my muse!

There’s a ton of sites for writers by writers that run the gamut of, well, anything and everything that has to do with writing. Those blogs look at the how-tos and where-fors of the written word, and a lot of excellent advice for those of us striving to become better at our craft. Hey, we all want to be better writers, right?

And there are blogs out there that include the muse along with the other bits and pieces that make up a writer. But what about that muse? Just what is a muse, anyway? Sure, there’s nine chicks out in the mythological Greek universe that belong to the Muses club, but none of those gals seem to belong to writers per se. There’s the poetry muses (Erato and Calliope), the comedy muse (Thalia), and the muse of tragedy (Melpomene), along with their five other sisters (Greek Mythology), but none that really stand for fiction writers in general.

So I looked up the meaning of the word “muse”, and found my favorite definition in Merriam-Webster’s third listing for the word (Definition of muse): a source of inspiration; especially :  a guiding genius. Oooh, I like that. Guiding genius. Source of inspiration sounds more like what I think a muse truly is to any artist: something that inspires.

Inspiration is the germ of creativity, at least in my mind. I think all artists, whether writers or musicians or painters or what have you, can pinpoint that bit of something that sets off a chain reaction that results in a particular painting, song, or story. A snowfall was my inspiration for a short story that took place in the winter. The memory of a trip to Hawaii sparked the opening scene in one of my novels.

Maybe by stopping for a moment and talking about those little things that can be a “muse” or inspiration, other writers who might be stuck or uninspired at the moment may get a little jog to pop them out of whatever rut they might be in. Sounds like an interesting journey to me. Anyone else in?

Author: Julie Holmes, author

Pen name: J. M. Goebel A fiction writer since elementary school (many years ago), and NaNoWriMo annual participant for a decade, I've been published in small press magazines such as "Fighting Chance" and "The Galactic Citizen". Currently I have two polished novels ready for the world and a number of others waiting their turn. I write adult mystery with extrasensory elements, mystery with a touch of romance, contemporary fantasy, and epic fantasy. In real life, I am a technical writer with a family of two teens, a wonderful hubby, one cat (what writer doesn't have cats??), two dogs, four chickens, and more chipmunks, squirrels, and rabbits than any garden should have to deal with. My garden, our "au natural" hobby farm, and Ma Nature's annual seasons are some of my muses.

Leave a Reply

